Skip to content

Galicia Region Guide


The autonomous region of Galicia is one of the seventeen autonomous regions that make up the country of Spain. Recognized as one of the first kingdoms ever established in all of Europe, Galicia is bordered by the country of Portugal to the south, Castile and León and Asturias to the west and the Atlantic Ocean to the north and to the west. Galicia enjoys a warm and temperate climate, making it an ideal destination to visit all year round. It is also for this reason that the region of Galicia is home to lush, sprawling countryside, scenic beaches and majestic mountain ranges. These areas all over the region provide travelers a place where they would be able to get away from the hustle and bustle of the city life and enjoy nature’s beauty.

If you are planning to travel to the region of Galicia, one of the places that you should not leave out on your itinerary is the historic city of Padron. This quaint and cozy city has been the birthplace of some of the most renowned and respected citizens in the entire region. Its rich history has been partly due to the fact that the city of Padron has been of significance in the religious practices of the region. Among its prized treasures are two artifacts which have been believed to be belonging to St. James the Apostle.

Another must visit place is the island of Santa Cruz. Connected to the mainland by a bridge, the island is home to the magnificent Santa Cruz castle which was built in 1594 as a response to the imminent invasion of the British. Today, the fortress is opened to the public free of charge and has been considered as a center for wildlife and environmental awareness in the region.
Read more

Galicia Cities and Areas

Latest Wiki Updates

Latest Galicia Trip Insights

There are no Galicia articles at this time.

Galicia Pictures

There are no Galicia pictures at this time.


Simple stock market strategy for better returns